8thSin - Cosmogenesis

Today is a very big day for me and Johan as it is the official release day of the "Cosmogenesis" album with 8thSin! It has been a 6 year long journey that is now finally coming to an end. I feel very proud and happy that this day has finally come, and hope that you like the result as much as we do! For those of you who have no clue what i am talking about, 8thSin is a band that started about 12 years ago and released the first album in 2004, the second in 2005, and was supposed to release the third album in 2006. But both myself and Johan joined Pain and have been touring heavily ever since, and the production of the third album was put on hold. Now the album is finally ready and it feels like i can turn the page and leave that chapter behind me with pride. 8thSin was my creative side at its most, as i did all music and all recording and production. It is the total opposite to my work in Pain as in 8thSin i do almost everything, and in Pain i do almost nothing. Though it is a bit unusual that it takes 6 years to finish an album, i'd say it only made it better as it transformed during the years and ended up in a more mature way. Most of the tracks are actually recorded back in 2005-2006 but all mixed and edited in 2011-2012.


We also had loads of great guests who where kind enough to help us out on the album, this is the complete list of appearing guests (including my daughter!) except the band:


Joacim Thenander - the "Mobhead" remixes

Pontus Norgren - guitar solo on "Teonanacatl (flesh of the gods)"

PM Saari - guitar solo on "Walking in my shoes"

Anders Olsson - guitar solo on "Walking in my shoes"

Martin Boman - guitar solo on "Walking in my shoes"

Eric Rivers - guitar solo on "Walking in my shoes"

Magnus Lundkvist - additional backing vocals and guitar solo on "Walking in my shoes"

Joacim Cans - additional backing vocals on "Walking in my shoes"

Catherine Forsberg - additional backing vocals

Ira Keelyn - additional backing vocals and female words on "Presession of the equinoxe"

Alexandra Balogh - additional backing vocals

Kimmy Bohlin - co-lead vocals on "Safety exit"

Peter Tägtgren - co-lead vocals on "Black metal"

Joacim Lundberg - co-lead vocals on "Walking in my shoes"


Complete tracklist:

01. Teonanacatl (flesh of the gods)

02. Perfectly wrong

03. Precession of the equinoxes

04. ID Zero

05. Safety-exit

06. Plumed serpent rise

07. Ekpyrosis

08. Cosmogenesis

09. The eight sins, part III


Bonus tracks

10. Walking in my shoes

11. Black metal

12. Irreligious - Mobhead 12" Mix (unreleased bonus from "Angelseed & Demonmilk")

13. A sleepover at the feeling of death - Mobhead 12" Mix (unreleased bonus from "Angelseed & Demonmilk")

14. Irreligious - Rectifier Club mix 135 (unreleased bonus from "Angelseed & Demonmilk")

15. The 11th commandment (unreleased track from "Sinners Inc")


"Cosmogenesis" is released on Soulseller Records, and will also be released in the US in February 2013.



8thSin - Cosmogenesis
Release November 23rd in Europe
February 2013 in the US

Posted by: carine

Gratulerar, Michael och Johan :)
Det här måste ge en stor känsla av tillfredsställelse, eller hur :)
Njut av den !

Svar: Tack, ja det känns bra att få vända blad och öppna ett nytt kapitel :-)
Michael Bohlin

2012-11-23 @ 20:29:13

Comment this post:

Remember me?

E-mail: (Will not be published)



RSS 2.0