Day 46 - Spain/Sweden, end of part two

THANK YOU ALL PAINHEADS OF Germany, France, Spain, Czech Republic, Austria, Italy, Netherlands, Belgium, we love you all! It has been a hell of a tour, with loads of crazy stuff going on (as always…), and many new great experiences. I have seen many new places and met many new friends.

One part of me feels a bit sad that it’s over, but the biggest parts of me just wanna go home. It has been a very long tour and I miss everything at home. My children, my girlfriend, my friends, my colleagues, Swedish food, my apartment, my bed, my car, proper sleep, proper breakfast, Stockholm… and the list can go on and on… Touring wears you down a bit, and you need time to recover afterwards, but it doesn’t take long until you miss being on the road again, it is so strange. I guess it’s the adrenaline and energy that being on stage gives you, and even though it might be 22 tough hours every day, it’s the last 2 hours on stage that really matters and makes up for the rest. Not to mention the guys I am touring with! We have such good atmosphere in this gang, and everybody is always nice and happy, with loads of laughs and respect for each other. Being 16 people in a nightliner tourbus for four weeks really puts a high demand of respect to be able to cope with the situation. That’s exactly what this bunch of guys did.

Emanuel, our backline tech who was touring with us already back in 2007, but as the drummer of Zonaria. Great guy, with the sense for details, but with a terrible underwear account :-)

Macke, our guitar tech who’s always happy and will always meet you with a smile on his face, no matter what. He makes sure my guitars are clean and perfectly set up every night, with new strings when needed. Always new sets of picks on my mic stand. I have gotten very spoiled having him around!

Kimmo, our sound engineer, is doing both FOH and monitor sound every night from his Venue SC48 with brilliant result. I’d say it’s a privilege for us to work with such talented man! I have seen so many shows when he’s been doing Nightwish, and as someone wrote in our Pain Facebook lately: “it sounds like a CD!” But most of all, Kimmo is such a funny Finnish guy!

Hede, probably the best light and stage designer that you can find in Sweden! Hede will do wonders with small resources, he will make anything look big and professional, and he will make the big picture of a concert a much more enjoyable experience.

Björn, our merchandise guy, has been one of my best friends for over 15 years. If you ask me, he is the most positive and happy man on this planet. Honestly nice to the bone. Nothing is impossible. Nothing! Having him on this tour was just a big happiness-injection! Together with Patrik (Engel’s merch and backline guy), they were a great team together.

Engel, a great band with such a great spirit! Professional guys with the right attitude. It has been very nice to get to know these guys and I really hope we can work with them again. If you haven’t checked them out yet, do so! When we will do our show in Gothenburg we will meet them all again as they all live there - looking forward to that!

Turmion Kätilöt, our crazy friends from Finland, really gave us even more laughs than we are used to. It was impossible to do anything else than laugh when they were around. This band is more dedicated to what they do than most other bands i know about.

Pain, no need for any further explanations about my bandmates…


From all of me to all of you, I love you all!




Pain, Engel, Turmion Kätilöt and all crew. A big happy family :-)

Comments

Comment this post:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (Will not be published)

URL/Blogadress:

Comment:

Trackback
RSS 2.0